small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

baby, baby, baby

on April 3, 2012

Today’s small thing: I’m growing a human!


The small thing for today is literally small, but figuratively huge. Jonathan and I are going to have a baby! He or she will make his or her appearance around October 22. I am 11 weeks along and getting more and more excited as each day comes and goes. (And as I start to feel better…)

Our baby is about 1 inch long and the size of a fig. (I’m not sure I’ve seen a fig, do fig newtons count?) But it is much bigger than that in our hearts. We’ve created a human, and it is inside me! We saw the baby at 8 weeks and heard the heart beat. We even SAW the heart beating on the screen. I couldn’t believe that something so small could already have a beating heart…what a miracle! (Can you tell I’ve been bursting at the seems to talk about this?)

Anyway, this weekend we were able to visit our families in KC and share the news. This baby will be the first grandchild on both sides, so he or she will be very spoiled. We had so much fun telling our friends and family and finally being able to share our joy with others.

Since I’m still not getting on facebook until after Easter, this is our formal internet announcement. If you’re reading this, thank you for being a loyal reader! Please send up some thoughts and prayers for our little one!

What is your favorite thing about babies? I can’t wait to cuddle with mine!

15 responses to “baby, baby, baby

  1. Michelle Mazur says:

    Kari!! You have a tiny human coming?!! This is sooo exciting!! Congratulations 😀 😀 😀

    I will certainly keep you and Jonathan in my prayers as you expand your family!

    Like

  2. Kimberley Gabel says:

    Congratulations Kari and Jonathan! We are so excited for you! Our little one is 2 weeks old today and it sure does change your world! 🙂

    Like

  3. Jen Sandusky says:

    My favorite thing about Karter is everything from his chunky legs to his beautiful eyes. I love when he hugs and blows raspberries. His giggle makes you laugh and his cry makes you tear, but it is all worth it when he looks up at you and smiles. Kari, we are so excited for you and Jonathan…Karter is looking forward to having a “cousin” so close in age. (Have to look up what their relation is to each other. I know Karter is your first cousin once removed…oh forget it…they are family, that is enough for me.) Love you guys!

    Like

  4. Jennifer Pawlowski Larson says:

    Congratulations, Kari! How exciting and wonderful!! Hope you have a smooth pregnancy!!

    Like

  5. Anonymous says:

    Congratulations, Mommy and Daddy!! I am so happy for the two of you. This begins the journey of the most wonderous path in your lives. After s/he is born, everything will forever be BB or AB (before baby or after baby.) The life changes are numerous and so worthwhile! When Granny Nany told me, I was so thrilled for all of you. Love, Prayers, and Blessings to all of you,
    Kathy

    Like

  6. Keithykins says:

    Like I told you earlier, I’m really glad you are having a human. No centaur babies, please.

    I like that everything about babies is either really small or disproportional. And they stare at everything.

    Like

  7. Anonymous says:

    Oh Kari, that’s wonderful! I’ve just texted my mom : )

    Like

  8. Kari Harman says:

    Oops, I forgot to say this was Kari Harman! : )

    Like

  9. Gina Koester says:

    OMG!!! Congrats! Best news!!!! Love you!
    We need to chat. I have a new job with a normal 8-5 schedule!!! Phone Date!

    Like

  10. Mikala says:

    Yay soooo excited for you guys! you will be such great parents!!

    Like

  11. Amy says:

    I am super excited for you! Now you just need to move home so they can play together!!

    Like

  12. Michele says:

    Kari, we are thrilled for you & Jonathan! Our prayers are with you all! A child is the greatest miracle! Enjoy every minute!! Love & blessings, Mark, Michele & family

    Like

  13. Doyle says:

    Congratulations! How exciting for the two/three of you! Neat blog Kari.

    Like

  14. Ashley Oehm Falcão says:

    Kari, this is Ashley from Hay 2 and I’ve randomly found your blog today after randomly checking the December archives of Today’s Letters and realizing that I recognized you and Jonathan in a Fist Bump Photo…Congratulations a thousand times on your pregnancy and may God continue to bless you and your family with health and love and joy in all the small things…

    Like

Leave a comment

