small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

moving right along

on June 11, 2012

Today’s small thing: baby is a movin’


Well, I am currently 21 weeks into this pregnancy and I finally can say I’m feeling much better! After a few months of feeling sick and exhausted I’m starting to feel a little more ‘normal’, if you can feel normal while pregnant!

We had our 2nd ultrasound last week and IT’S A BOY! We saw all his amazing features and I couldn’t believe he was so well developed at only 20 weeks along! We saw his heart beating and he was moving around, mostly because his space was being invaded by the ultrasound technician. He looks healthy so far, so we are very thankful for that.

Last week I was in KC spending time  with family and friends and attending a FABULOUS baby shower thrown by my cousin and best friend. The theme was Milk and Cookies, and they pulled out all the stops to make it one amazing party. After the shower it felt more and more real that we’re going to have a little one in a few months!

The night before the shower I was hanging out with my friend Laura and we stopped to pray at my old church. We couldn’t remember the code to get into the Adoration chapel, so we walked around to the back of the building where we knew there was a statue of Mary in a courtyard. So we sat there and prayed for a while, and as I was asking Mary to help me be a good mother for my child, among other things, I felt the baby move for the first time! What a beautiful gift from my heavenly Mother. I think he had moved around before, but I was never aware of what the feeling was…and she helped to direct my mind to it.

So now every time he moves I am reminded to acknowledge his existance and pray for him. Here is a prayer I found in a book my aunt gave me:

St. Gerard, patron of expectant mothers,
Pray for this unborn child
that he may be healthy upon his birth
and throughout his life.
As my child grows, may he feel my love for him more each day
and may his tiny body be nourished properly.
Obtain for us the grace to stay close to God and to follow His will as you did.
St. Gerard, mothers are often asked to do two or more tasks at the same time.
Ask God to bless this child with a patient mother
who gives of herself more than she feels
she actually has to give;
a mother filled with the wisdom and the courage to persevere.
May this unbord child be raised in strong faith
and conviction so that he may someday spend eternal life in Heaven.

Amen.

 

Do you have anything I can pray for? Leave a comment or send me an email! 

2 responses to “moving right along

  1. jepete says:

    It’s totally crazy how these little humans develop. We have a 25 weeker in our NICU right now that was born at 23 weeks. She came out wailing!! Glad you’re feeling better and can’t wait to see picks of the little man!

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    That is so sweet, Kari! Really excited for you, and continuing to pray!

    Like

Leave a comment

