small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

making room

on July 20, 2012

A small thing from last week: organizing

It’s amazing how much peace I feel after cleaning out a closet or a room. I’m not very good at doing this very often, but when it happens it is almost like I catch a fever and need to go through everything. It had been about 2 years since my husband and I went through our closets, so we figured since we need to make room for a new family member we should start now!

My goal was to get the guest room closet cleaned out before Laura came to visit so we could at least put the pile of baby stuff taking up the floor in the guest room in a more unobtrusive place for our guest. It also was a good idea to get it done before she came because my plan was to put her organizational skills to work.

So each day she was here we tackled a small project, and by the end of the week we had completely reorganized the guest room closet, laundry room, garage, and my bedroom closet.

The space I am most proud of is the guest room closet. Half of it was Jonathan’s wine cellar, and the other half was a catch-all for the items we hadn’t figured out where to put. Now it’s still half a wine cellar, but the other half is a perfect baby closet. I’m so pleased with how we utilized the very little space we have and it looks great too!

Here is a close-up of the baby side of the closet.

So the nesting has officially begun! I’m so thankful that Laura spent a week of her summer vacation hanging out with me and helping to get everything it its right place for baby’s arrival. I know he’s very thankful he’ll have space in our apartment!

 

What is something you’ve done this week you are really proud of?

 

One response to “making room

  1. Keithykins says:

    I am really proud that I went to an event by myself and only knew a small handful of people that might be there. I went and had a greeat time amt met a large handful of new people. It was great.

    oh and btw, I think you might be having a baby. Prolly should get that checked out.

    Like

Leave a comment

