small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

5 hours

on December 21, 2012

Today’s small thing: baby had a 5 hour stretch between feedings last night!

sleep

Having a baby has really reminded me to enjoy the small things. Last night baby George gave his mom and dad a little more sleep!

I fed him around 9:30 last night and we enjoyed some play time before he finally went to sleep close to 11. We all went to bed and I was awakened by his gentle cry. I looked at the clock thinking it was midnight, but to my surprise it was 2:30!

Normally my attitude during nighttime feedings was less than loving, but last night I was overjoyed knowing I had 3.5 hours of consecutive sleep that I greeted the crying baby with a smile saying “of course I’ll feed you!”

This journey of being a parent has had its ups and downs and I had been focusing mostly on the downs. In the wake of finding out about my dad’s brain cancer, I’ve been trying really hard to focus more on the ups. It is amazing how just a simple attitude adjustment can make a huge difference. I’m not even beginning to say that it is easy. It’s taken me over 2 months to think positively about my parenting skills, so it’s going to take me at least that long to be more positive about cancer. But I do know that in these small moments, looking on the bright side makes things a little more bearable.

So here’s to more sleep for this tired mama, and to a focus on the UPs not the downs.

What is one UP you have experienced in the past few days?

 

P.S. Please pray for my dad. His radiation and chemo treatments start the day after Christmas. To keep updated on everything, check out his CaringBridge page. Thanks!  http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/kevinkennedy1

“Pray, hope, don’t worry.” –Saint Padre Pio

3 responses to “5 hours

  1. Anonymous says:

    Kari, What a beautifully written posting. Baby George has brought so much love and joy into this world for you and Jonathon and especially for Kevin and Nancy. How wonderful for all of you to have this precious gift from God to focus on during these difficult days of doctors, hospitals, and treatments. BTW, there did not used to be 24 hours of television. After playing the national anthem and showing a flag flying in the breeze, TV would go off until the next morning. When I would rock and breastfeed in the middle of the dark night, my mind would wander. I could see myself in an old folk’s home at the age of 90 rocking away and remembering how sweet it was to rock a baby during the night. Some how, that thought of cherishing baby memories (while I was simply exhausted from a lack of “straight through” sleep) really kept me going. Until you have your first child, you cannot understand how your parents feel about you. Now you know and understand the undying, unconditional love your parents have for you. Our Heavenly Father has blessed you in many ways. Okay, I’m getting teary-eyed…. as the Italians say, “Basta!” Luv ya – Kathy

    Like

  2. Kevin & Nancy Kennedy says:

    I think you are doing an awesome job with George!

    Like

  3. Grandma says:

    Looks to me that you are doing a good job, I look back to when we had Kevin and brought him home from the hospital and Papa and I looked at each other and said “What do we do now?” By the grace of the good Lord we muddled through and with a lot of prayer and good common sense think he turned out okay, especially when we see how well he parented all of you. Relax and enjoy these years as they fly by.

    Like

Leave a comment

