small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

smiles

on February 22, 2013

Today’s small thing: unexpected smiles

Things have been a bit dreary around the apartment lately. Since our visitors left we really haven’t left the house due to snow and cold temperatures. That means we have become just a little stir crazy.

Today I decided I should probably clean the dishes that have been piling up for the past few days, so George joined me in the kitchen for a little dish cleaning dance party. I put on the songza.com playlist “Feelin’ Good in the ’90s” and got to work. George was in his new toy, the Go Pod, playing with some toys I pulled out from his closet.

He still is a little resistant to the pod, mostly because his legs barely touch the floor, and he’s probably unsure why he is in the pod in the first place. But today he was having a grand time bouncing and playing. I started to sing to him and this is what I got…

DSCN0367

SO ADORABLE.

So we played for a while then it was naptime. I rocked him to sleep and tried to gently put him in his crib (I still need a lot of work on this technique) yet when I put him down his little head popped up and gave me this huge grin. As if he were saying “Haha, fooled you mama!”

I just had to laugh! Needless to say we delayed sleep time for a few more minutes.

All of this before 2pm.

It is very easy to get caught up in the gloom of winter and wish for spring, but the reality is that today is today and I can’t change it. These little moments make me happy that we’re stuck inside, even if it does drive me crazy most of the time.

I think we all need to smile a little more. 🙂

What made you smile today?

2 responses to “smiles

  1. Keithykins says:

    That picture of George made me smile. Such a happy chap.

    Like

  2. Grandma says:

    How could you not smile when you look at George! He is so adorable!

    Like

Leave a comment

