small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

rolling rolling rolling

on March 2, 2013

IMG_20130214_111917

Today’s small thing: rolling over

Something so simple has become a huge accomplishment at our house.

George is now rolling over. And it is amazing.

Now if I were to roll over, I’m pretty sure no one would be smiling, clapping, and encouraging me to do it again. Now isn’t that an interesting visual?

Each time he does it with a little more ease and finesse. My mom-ness comes in and I just feel so proud of him for doing this little thing all on his own.

I started thinking about why this was such an important milestone. Not only does this mean the beginning of more crazy in our lives as he becomes more mobile, but it means that he’s taking steps to be more independent. He has come such a long way since he was just a peanut sized baby growing inside me.

I have also come a long way since being a peanut sized baby inside my mother. I’m amazed at how much has happened in my 28 years of life; how much growing and learning has happened. I think I forget to look at myself and cheer and clap for all the things that I have accomplished, big and small. We should all do this more often to remind ourselves that we matter, that we are important, and that we are loved. Or as Aibileen says in The Help, “You is smart, you is kind, you is important.”

Take a moment to think about what you have accomplished, big and small, in your life so far. Now smile, clap, and encourage yourself to do more of that!

Leave a comment

