small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

sweat

on March 5, 2013

Today’s small thing: a short workout

I’ve been thinking about working out a lot lately, but haven’t had much motivation. We’ve been held under the infamous perma-cloud here in South Bend so being active outside hasn’t been ideal. And we’ve had snow on the ground for many of the past 4 months of winter. Yes, 4 months. And it is snowing as I type this…

Enough excuses.

I’ve been watching this season of The Biggest Loser and each time I watch it I tell myself I’m going to get my act together and start to get back to pre-baby shape, which was about a year ago. I wasn’t actually ‘in shape’ pre-baby, but I didn’t have the extra weight I do now. Anyway, I love the show and it has a way of making me feel like I can reach my goal (once I set one).

Enter The Biggest Loser Cardio Max Workout DVD.

I put George in his Go Pod so he could work out with me. He seemed to enjoy watching me and just gave me some funny smiles as I was struggling to breathe. Man it is hard to do a cardio workout after not doing much for a year! But my buddy Bob has a way of making me feel like I’m doing a great job just by moving. And move I did.

Then the sweat came.

It’s amazing how great it felt to break a sweat, and even more amazing to take a shower after!

Today I made a small step toward a bigger goal of being more active. I want to be able to do all I could do before baby, and more. I just hope that my laziness doesn’t get the best of me, like it usually does.

So my next biggest challenge: moving some more tomorrow. And to not eat more of the cookies I just made…

Wish me luck!

What do you like to do that makes you break a sweat?

 

2 responses to “sweat

  1. Jen says:

    I am really proud of you Kari – Let’s do this together. I want to be pre-baby and more by Karter’s 2nd birthday. I have started a Couch 2 5K program and it is kicking my rear end!, but I want to run a 5k this summer and shed about 60 pounds. I know scary to actually put the weight number out here, but I am proud of who I am and who I have become because of an amazing little man named Karter…I am not scared of the number, because that number does not define me! I will be here to support you through the weight lose – Love you Kari!

    Like

  2. Ellen says:

    I did this exact same workout the other night!!! Bob is my favorite. 🙂

    I have been trying to get back in the workout groove too. I am ignoring the fact that Michael and I polished off an entire box of Girl Scout cookies in less than 2 days. Send some of your motivation this way, please!

    Like

Leave a comment

