small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

peace

on April 13, 2013

Today’s small thing: a sense of peace

Yesterday was a big day: my 29th birthday! It was a great day filled with phone calls, text messages, and yes, facebook wall posts. I really enjoyed hearing from family and friends who took the time to say the simple phrase, happy birthday.

George and I spent the day laughing with each other and during his nap times I finished filing my taxes and worked on a few small projects around the house. Nothing too special, but it was for the most part relaxing.

We then went out to dinner with a few friends at a Mexican restaurant so that I could have a margarita. Afterward we played some games and went to bed at a decent hour.

bday13

I woke up this morning with a sense of peace. Mostly because George graced us with a good 6 hours of sleep! But part of it was just reflecting on the day before and what my life is like at this nice age of 29.

Jonathan gave me the afternoon away from the boys for my birthday so I took full advantage.

As I was having lunch by myself I read a little from the book Searching for and Maintaining Peace which was really great in reminding me how important it is to be peaceful as often as possible.

Consider the surface of a lake, above which the sun is shining. If the surface of the lake is peaceful and tranquil, the sun will be reflected in this lake; and the more peaceful the lake, the more perfectly it will be reflected. If, on the contrary, the surface of the lake is agitated, undulating, then the image of the sun can not be reflected in it.

It is a little bit like this with regard to our soul in relationship to God. The more out soul is peaceful and tranquil, the more God is reflected in it, the more His image expresses itself in us, the more His grace acts through us.

I thought this was so interesting to think about. Yesterday and today I really had a good sense of peace and was more open to seeing the good and happy things in life. I felt better.

Then of course I went clothes shopping and my peace shattered…but I’m a work in progress, as we all are.

Anyway, I hope that you may find peace in whatever life has handed you this day.

Be the lake that reflects the sun at its best.

 

 

 

2 responses to “peace

  1. mom says:

    your posts always make me proud and cry.

    Like

Leave a comment

