small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

self

on April 16, 2013

Today’s small thing: an old note about me

Thanks to Facebook, my life since December 4, 2004 has been documented on the interwebs. That’s a long time! (And a little frightening).

I was looking at my timeline since they recently redesigned it, and I cam across old ‘notes’ I had written. As I was going through them I stumbled upon a gem. Apparently it was something that was going around on Facebook where people listed 25 random facts about themselves. I found it very interesting and actually quite edifying to read some of my responses, since I’ve already accomplished some of them. I think I’ll share it with you so you can get to know me a little better!

February 5, 2009

1. I have a good habit of ‘reading’ emails but then totally forgetting what they said.
2. I get impatient when the computer can’t keep up with my speeedy typing. Like right now.
3. My family is more like a bunch of strange people with the common goal of always laughing and having fun.
4. My brother had many of the same answers for this, so I’m going to have to rethink these things. This sibling ESP has to stop.
5. I had meningitis when I was around 2 years old. I was in the ICU for 10 days. The amazing thing is, I haven’t had any health complications as a result of it.
6. My favorite adult beverage is a margarita. Coke is my favorite, but coke light is probably the best. It IS different than diet coke!
7. I love to have techno dance parties in my room.
8. I have a goal of recording a CD of all of my own songs. 
9. When I was little I wanted to be an olympic ice skater.
10. I was a softball pitcher for about 5 years.
11. I sang a disney song for each talent show in elementary school. Except for the year when I tried the duet from aladdin 😦
12. I hate returning things to stores, so I usually just keep it until I give it away.
—I think it is hilarious that the whole world is afraid of the number 13. Where is row 13 in airplanes? What about floor 13? Manhattan doesn’t like that idea of 13th street, either.
14. I learned the entire dance to *Nsync’s Pop. Yes, I still know it.
15.My first article for the Kansas state collegian newspaper was about a student who died. 
16. My first ‘boyfriend’ was in eighth grade. We held hands before school, I avoided his phone calls, and i broke up with him after two weeks. he did give me chocolate though…
17. I once was a part of a neighborhood club where all we did was plan the next meeting and who brought the snacks.
18. All of my halloween costumes were made by my mother and had some sort of disney theme. I was the best Mrs. Potts.
19. I don’t like causing any type of commotion in public. So don’t argue with cashiers or confront people, i’ll be hiding.
20. I want to go back to europe at least 2 more times.
21. I once busted a whole bag of powdered sugar on my head.
22. I love quoting movies with my brothers. And listening to dad complain.
23. I was a KU fan up until I went to K-State. I think I still have KU monopoly.
24. there is a video of my first dance recital where I didn’t do a move right and my aunt was shaking the camera because she was laughing so hard.
25. When I grow up I want to be a mom.

After I read #25 my heart stopped. Does this mean I’ve grown up? How cool.

I think I might have to do an updated list sometime.(Future blog post??)

What is one random fact about you??

 

P.S. My heart is still heavy after hearing about the bombings in Boston. Please know I’m praying for the victims and their families. Let’s try, though, to continue to look for the GOOD in this world.

One response to “self

  1. Courtney says:

    After reading your list, I had to go back and reread mine… Thanks for the memories.

    Like

Leave a comment

