small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

quick takes

on May 11, 2013

This week’s small things and thoughts:

1. We are in day 3 of teaching George how to sleep on his own, and it is working! The first day was rough, but now he is asleep within 10 minutes of putting him in his crib. I never thought I’d be able to do it, but it is so nice to know he can go to sleep by himself at naptime. I now am a more sane mama!

Image

2. We are about 2 months in to cloth diapering and I still LOVE it. I know many people hear those words and think of diaper pins and cleaning dirty diapers, but they have come so far! I love how I know I won’t run out and how I don’t have to spend money every month on diapers. We do disposables at night because I haven’t figured out cloth at night, but other than that we are full on cloth. I actually enjoy washing them and seeing them on his cute bum. If you want more info about it, please ask me! I would love to share what I do. 

Image

3. I made shortbread cookies from scratch yesterday. I decided that is a bad idea because I don’t want to admit to how many of them I ate. *yummy*

4. My youngest brother had his last day of high school on Friday. What the WHAT? I can’t believe my little baby brother is done with high school! He has grown into a pretty fun and intelligent young man. I can’t wait to celebrate with him and the family next week!

5. French Vanilla coffee with cream and sugar from Dunkin’ Donuts. Perfection.

6. My lovely mother sent me chocolate covered strawberries for Mother’s Day. It came in a package I imagine the FBI would send. Insulated with an ice pack in a padded box inside a cardboard box marked with several FRA-GIL-LAY signs. Once I got through security I found the deliciousness. She sure knows what makes me smile!

Image

7. The last take today is something I found so powerful. Mother’s Day is on Sunday and I am so thankful to be able to be a part of that day. But I also am reminded of those women who aren’t mothers but desire to be, or those women who really tried but were unable to have children. Or those women who gave their children up for adoption. Or those women who have lost children. There are so many types of mothers and we can’t forget the less obvious ones.

Here is a prayer I have for all those wonderful women!

To those who gave birth this year to their first child—we celebrate with you
To those who lost a child this year – we mourn with you
To those who are in the trenches with little ones every day and wear the badge of food stains – we appreciate you
To those who experienced loss this year through miscarriage, failed adoptions, or running away—we mourn with you
To those who walk the hard path of infertility, fraught with pokes, prods, tears, and disappointment – we walk with you. Forgive us when we say foolish things. We don’t mean to make this harder than it is.
To those who are foster moms, mentor moms, and spiritual moms – we need you
To those who have warm and close relationships with your children – we celebrate with you
To those who have disappointment, heart ache, and distance with your children – we sit with you
To those who lost their mothers this year – we grieve with you
To those who experienced abuse at the hands of your own mother – we acknowledge your experience
To those who lived through driving tests, medical tests, and the overall testing of motherhood – we are better for having you in our midst
To those who will have emptier nests in the upcoming year – we grieve and rejoice with you
And to those who are pregnant with new life, both expected and surprising –we anticipate with you
This Mother’s Day, we walk with you. Mothering is not for the faint of heart and we have real warriors in our midst. We remember you.   
            from the messy middle
 
What is one quick take from your life this past week? I know you’re out there, lovely readers. Care to spare a moment and share? 🙂
5 responses to “quick takes

  1. My sweet, sweet son came home to visit me for Mother’s Day. I hadn’t seen him in 7 months, so it’s wonderful having him here. I love the banter and teasing we share…and how attentive he is to my mother. So lucky.

    Like

    • Kari says:

      That is awesome! How wonderful that must have been to see him and spend quality time together around Mother’s Day. You are a great mom!

      Like

  2. Grandma says:

    Happy Mother’s Day, Kari, Love Grandma

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    that was a sweet prayer! I forget about all the women who are mothers by foster care, surrogacy, or future mothers. Last weekend I enjoyed the day with my mother, mother-in-law, and both of my grandmothers. That was a first. My aunt (who never had children) also wished me a happy mother’s day, which humbled me. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a comment

