small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

our lady of everything

on June 18, 2013

Yesterday’s small thing: a family rosary

Image

As a Catholic I have always been thankful for the many prayers I have memorized throughout the years. It is so good to pray spontaneously, but there are just times when I don’t know what to say. That is where an Our Father or a Hail Mary comes in very handy.

Lately it has been very hard to know what to say when I pray. There are many things going on in my life and with my family that makes it very difficult to put into words how I feel and what I need.

Last night my Dad mentioned that he’d like to pray the rosary so I decided to pray with him, and my brother joined in. 

We all were a little rusty, and still a little unfamiliar with the prayer, but we stumbled through with sincere hearts. Those twenty minutes were some of the most peaceful minutes I think we’ve all had in a long time. 

I just kept picturing Our Mother listening to us, asking her to pray for us and to make sure to mention our needs to her Son. I know that Mary is one amazing advocate and she is a great lady to have on our team. 

My hope is that the Rosary will become a bigger part of my life as I continue to find my own words to pray.

But until then…

Hail Mary, full of grace,

the Lord is with thee.

Blessed art thou among women,

and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.

Holy Mary, Mother of God,

pray for us sinners,

now and at the hour of our death. Amen.

One response to “our lady of everything

  1. lisa says:

    I just resently learned of how we as God’s children are urged strongly to pray the rosary as a weapon against the Evil of the Devil…My Husband has made a commitment to pray each day..I do my best to say at least one decade. And I too understand not having the words or not knowing how to pray and for what. I thank Our Lord for knowing our hearts and knowing what is best for us. Mama Mary..pray for us…amen

    Like

Leave a comment

