small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

friday

on August 23, 2013

Seven Quick Takes for Friday

1–We received some sad news yesterday. Dad’s tumor has grown even under intense treatment. We have decided to stop treatment in order to improve quality of life. I’m still processing what all this means, but in the meantime I’m leaning on the love expressed in texts, facebook messages, etc. If I’ve learned anything during this trial it is “say something, do something” whenever someone is going through difficulty. It’s in feeling alone when our thoughts and worries can run wild.

2–I couldn’t sleep last night so I stayed up video chatting with my middle brother. It was calming, relaxing, and almost like we were in the same room. I need to send a personal note to the creator of video chatting and thank him or her from the bottom of my heart for making being away from family a little easier.

3–While I’m writing personal notes, I need to add the creator of spotify on that list. I have been listening to Mumford and Sons a lot lately, without having to pay for it. This makes this stay at home mom, wife of a graduate student very happy!

4–I watched View from the Top the other day, compliments of Netflix. I really love simple comedies, especially of the romantic variety. Just another guilty pleasure of mine. I really hope they bring back the plethora of ABC family Christmas movies in December…

5–I’m really enjoying the fact that my little one is sleeping through the night and taking long naps during the day. I sometimes get annoyed at the people on facebook who boast of their 3 week old sleeping through the night, but I have to realize that no matter when it happens, it is something to celebrate!

6–I’ve made a cleaning calendar. Yes…I spent the time I was supposed to clean making a cleaning schedule. Anyway, it sets out a few tasks to do each day so cleaning is not ever overwhelming. I plan to start today, but we’ll see if that happens. The best laid plans for me sometimes lack follow-through. I’m hoping this will work though!

Image

7–My brother mentioned he had prayed the Chaplet of Divine Mercy for Dad the other day. This prayer is said with the aid of a rosary and has a very powerful focus on mercy. If you feel the tug to pray with us, please do. Here is a link to the information on how to pray the chaplet and the prayers. Any way you can pray for a peaceful transition for my dad is greatly appreciated. 

Image

Photo Credit

Thanks for reading my quick takes. I will try very hard to find some small things in the coming weeks. 

5 responses to “friday

  1. Ellen says:

    Sending lots of love to you, Kari. I am glad you are able to find some small things during this time. I’m proud of you for making the cleaning calendar! Girl after my own heart, right there. 🙂 Enjoy the quiet during the long naps. Praying for you and your amazing family.

    Like

  2. Corey says:

    Thinking of you all! Situations like this really make you value the small moments in life. It can be really hard to deal with people who take their blessings for granted after this, but you will come away from this experience with more love and fond memories than most people get the chance to experience. You are handling this so beautifully, and you are such an inspiring woman! Hang in there. And, I made a cleaning list a few weeks ago and it has helped SO much! Hopefully yours will help as well! I try to do it all during nap times….the baby doesn’t always agree though 🙂

    Like

  3. Jen Samayoa says:

    Kari, my heart is in deep pain for you. It is beautiful to see your continued thankful heart. I am praying for you, especially today. I love you so much and I hate to know you and your family are struggling. You are in my heart. I continue to leave your family and your dad at the foot of the cross. I pray that Jesus and Mary will take you and hold you in their arms. I love, love, love you.

    Like

  4. Anonymous says:

    Kari and family, None of us is in control of what happens here on Earth, but i am sure someone greater than you or me is in control of each of our destinies. No doubt God has plans for great things where your dad is concerned even if it does not include out journey here on Earth. I will pray for you and all of your family, but your dad probably needs the least of the prayers. God seems to have a great plan for him. Love, Cindy

    Like

  5. […] morning (talk about a LOFTY goal) and throughout the day focus on my daily cleaning plan. I made a plan similar to this before, but it failed miserably. Here is my new […]

    Like

Leave a comment

