small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

perfect words

on October 17, 2013

Today’s small thing: the perfect book

I know there isn’t a ‘perfect’ book, but there is definitely a perfect book for where you are at a specific moment. And I have found it.

As many of you know, my dad passed away a month ago from today. I may try to hide it, but my heart hurts. My chest is always tight and I am close to tears every moment. I don’t know what could trigger a gush of tears so I anxiously wait for it.

Of course I’m not ready to talk about all that occupies my mind and all my family has gone through. Not yet. So what do I do?

I found a book.

The book is called On Grief and Grieving by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross and David Kessler.

Image

I cannot express how perfect this book is for me right now. These authors have done extensive research on grief and each part describes what I’m feeling so intimately it is like they have read my soul. (Ok, maybe not that extreme, but sometimes that is how it feels!)

Anyway, I felt compelled to blog this for a few reasons.

1–I know that many who read this are grieving too. I thought giving a resource could be helpful to even just one reader.

2–I don’t want to completely ignore the fact that I’m hurting on the blog. I know this is supposed to be a happy and uplifting blog, but I feel it would be unfair to me and to you if I masked my grief.

3–I’m getting closer to being ready to share many things about Dad on the blog and I think this is the first step to getting there.

So, my beloved readers, I’m sad. And I’m not going to ignore that anymore. I am, however, going to still look for beauty in each day amidst my sadness. So there will still be some good posts here, hopefully!

Please pray for my family and all those who are grieving the loss of my wonderful father (or for anyone who is grieving the loss of a loved one). We need it now more than ever since the more time that passes the bigger the void seems to get.

Thank you! And please know that anything you say or do for us is incredibly appreciated.

“Let nothing disturb thee; Let nothing dismay thee; All thing pass; God never changes. Patience attains all that it strives for. He who has God finds he lacks nothing: God alone suffices.” – St. Teresa of Avila

3 responses to “perfect words

  1. lisa says:

    Thank you, beautiful post. And know you and your family are in our prayers.

    Like

  2. jensamayoa says:

    Your honesty and vulnerability are beautiful and help me be authentic with my feelings, struggles, joys, etc. I miss your face around KC. I’m not in KC either. I think about you A LOT!!! I’m praying for you, friend!

    Like

  3. Dr. Mazur says:

    Prayers are flowing your way all the way from Australia!! I can’t even imagine the struggles you are facing during this difficult time in life, but I am inspired by your honesty (like Jen said) and will continue to think good thoughts for you as you heal. Love you much!!

    Like

Leave a comment

