small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

almost 2,000

on November 16, 2013

Today’s small thing: almost 2,000 words of my novel

Yes, you read that right. My novel. 

I’ve been thinking of ways to try to channel my emotions and I just kept coming back to writing. This blog already has been very therapeutic in helping me wade through the waters of grief. But I have challenged myself to find a more constant and (right now) private way to do that. 

Since our journey with Dad I’ve been thinking a lot about what things I want to do in my life. We worked very hard to get as many of Dad’s bucket list items checked off as possible and it was so wonderful to be able to do what we could, but there was only so much time and not everything was accomplished. 

I know that it is highly unlikely that I will get to do all I want to in life, but doing all that we did for Dad made me realize that the time to start is now. Not when I’m ready, but now.

So here I am on November 16, 2013 with almost 2,000 words of a novel.

My motivation was this awesome movement called National Novel Writing Month, which I heard about through a friend a few years ago. I challenged my students to do it when I was teaching, but I never felt I had the time or talent to do it.

This year, November came and I knew that now was the time. 

The goal is to write a 50,000 word novel in the month of November. Crazy? Yes. Possible? Yes. Will I do it? Probably not. But I’ve told myself that it is ok that I won’t reach that goal. My goal is to write a novel at some point in my life, and I can’t do that if I don’t start.

Thanks to a good writer friend, I was kicked into gear today and added a few hundred more words in my word document and it feels great. I hope that I will continue to visit my characters and plot on a consistent basis and have a rough draft in a few months. 

If only I wouldn’t stop writing my novel to blog…

One step at a time!

Do you think you would be able to start writing a novel? What would it be about?

2 responses to “almost 2,000

  1. Grandma says:

    I feel rather fulfilled with you writing a book since I had suggested a long time ago that I felt you had the talent, I am looking forward to reading it and having an autographed copy!!!!!!! Love you, Grandma K.

    Like

  2. Ellen says:

    You definitely have the talent! What an awesome goal! Cannot wait to see how it turns out!!

    Like

Leave a comment

