small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

below my feet

on February 26, 2014

Today’s small thing: lyrical genius

I bought Jonathan a Mumford and Sons album for Christmas. We keep it in the car CD player and listen when George isn’t wanting his kid music.

The songs were background music for a while until one night I was driving back from tutoring and this song’s lyrics seeped into my heart. And they now have made a home there.

The song is Below My Feet and it not only is lyrical genius but musical as well. The harmony, tempo, instrumentation conveys a contrast between sorrow and hope. And it sounds much like I feel. 

You were cold as the blood through your bones
And the light which led us from our chosen homes
Well I was lost

And now I sleep
Sleep the hours and that I can’t weep
When all I knew was steeped in blackened holes
I was lost

I feel the beginning of the song talks about someone who has died and left their chosen home of Earth, which in my case is my dad and grandpa. And I’m left feeling lost, sleeping the hours that I don’t mourn.

Keep the earth below my feet
For all my sweat, my blood runs weak
Let me learn from where I have been
Keep my eyes to serve, my hands to learn
Keep my eyes to serve, my hands to learn

 

The chorus of the song is a prayer. It is asking the Lord to keep me grounded and continue to have faith in Him, even when it is hard to believe He is there. 

And I was still
I was under your spell
When I was told by Jesus all was well
So all must be well

The next part shows a conflict with hearing that ‘all is well’ but not really believing it is well. (Hear the frustration the second time he sings it.) How can it be well if they are gone? I have this conflict because I hear that they are with God now, they aren’t suffering, I will be reunited with them, etc. But the truth is I miss them and don’t like hearing that it is all fine, because it isn’t fine that my dad and grandpa are not with me. That is just the reality right now. That is why the chorus I feel is so powerful…I know that God will keep me on the right path as I grieve. 

Just give me time
You know your desires and mine
So wrap my flesh in ivy and in twine
For I must be well

I love how the next part says all I need is time. This is the hardest part about grieving the loss of a loved one. It seems that we all want to be back to normal as quickly as possible. I think wrapping flesh in ivy and in twine shows how binding grief feels sometimes, it is hard to let all the feelings out  because you feel you have to be OK for other people. It will take time to be well again, and it needs to be dealt with in the way the individual feels best. We already feel bound in sorrow so having more pressure to get better fast doesn’t help. This pressure in my case is given to me by myself! I think the biggest thing is feeling supported, and people meeting me where I am. Sadness and all.

Anyway, I have really wanted to share this song with all of you, so now I have. The great thing about music is that is can touch people in many different ways. So as you listen to the lyrics it could speak to you in a completely different way, which is great! I just wanted to tell you how it speaks to me.

What song is dwelling in your heart right now?

 

Leave a comment

