small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

can’t sleep

on May 3, 2014

I can’t sleep. Too many things in my head. And maybe I forgot iced tea has caffeine.

Too many things in my head to write here.

But this passage I read tonight gives a little insight.

“Getting through the day is like walking through a minefield of deadly moments of recollection. 

Just when I have slipped beneath the surface of remembering, drawn there by the benevolent distractions of daily life, the grim new reality suddenly explodes around me, reminding me that everything is terribly, permanently different. And I must absorb the same first brutal shock, the same descending horror, over and over again.

I am deceived by those instances of forgetfulness, yet I am obviously not ready to live every moment with the in alterable truth.”

               From the book Safe Passage: words to help the grieving by Molly Fumia

That is all.

Leave a comment

