small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

shopping!

on November 7, 2014

a small thing from yesterday: new clothes!

Shopping for clothes has always been rough for me. Struggling with body image is nothing new for women, and especially me.

The past two years have been rough for my body. Having a child and then dealing with grief did a number on my ideal weight and on my own perception of my body.

So when my mom came in town last week, we were on a mission to help to change that image, and to find some clothes that would make me feel fabulous.

We ventured out last night to a few stores and had no luck. I left the second store wondering if I ever would enjoy shopping for clothes.

We went to one last store, just to look for a new shirt. Just one would make me feel better.

We walked around a little and then met a lovely sales associate. She asked me what I was looking for, and I said I wanted to be a cool mom, not a frumpy mom. Basically, I wanted to look nice for Storytime.

And I meant it!

So she pulled lots of things from the racks and made me try on the gateway drug: skinny pants.

And about 45 minutes later, a whirlwind of clothes and colors and styles, we checked out with five new outfits!

As we were leaving I asked her if I could give her a hug, and my mom did too.

We left with tears of joy in our eyes, marveling at the wonderful experience we had. And we were so thankful to feel so happy for the first time in a long time. I felt like a million bucks in the clothes, and not because I am at my ideal weight, but because I knew I could look amazing where I am.

And that is an incredible feeling, especially after the last two years.

Thank you to that lovely lady who didn’t know how much her willingness to help me has changed my perception of myself!

And here are a few photos of my fashion show for the hubby.

Cheers! What made you feel like a million bucks today?

IMG_1947 IMG_1963

4 responses to “shopping!

  1. Keithy says:

    I’m glad you and Mom got some retail therapy in.

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    Kari! I had a similar experience a few weeks ago, myself. I am not at my ideal weight either and have really been beating myself up about it. I have also been putting off buying new clothes for work because it would be like giving in. But I thought to myself, “Sheila, you have every right to try your best to enjoy what you wear, no matter what you weigh. Acceptance is not giving up.” So I bought two outfits and a slew of shirts. And I like how I look in them even if I’m 20 pounds beyond where I want to be. Thinking of you…

    Like

  3. Anonymous says:

    Looks great! You deserve to have something new, great going!!!!

    Like

Leave a comment

