small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

self-care

on November 9, 2014

One of the many things I have learned in the past few years is how important it is to take care of yourself. It is so very easy to go on with each day accumulating stress and worry and not finding ways to get rid of it. Sometimes watching TV is a great way to unwind, but it doesn’t necessarily help to reduce the stressors and worries of each day.

After I started going to see a counselor to help cope with my grief, I began to think of ways I could help myself feel better, even the littlest things. Because I knew nothing would take away the pain of losing Dad, there were things I could do to help ease it.

I was reminded of this after reading this wonderful piece called 30 Things to Start Doing for Yourself.

As I was reading through it I recognized many things I had been doing in the past few months that have actually helped to reduce my stress/worry/sadness and sometimes encourage a little smile or a better night’s sleep.

A few things I’ve been doing:

-making sure the kitchen is clean before I go to bed (success rate 70% weekly)

-washing my face each night with a fancy all-natural wonderful smelling soap, and at least once a week using a face mask of some kind (Face masks from target are wonderful!)

-letting people know if I’m having what I’ve been calling a ‘Dad moment’ so I can cry or be sad without feeling weird (at a wedding last week I started bawling when they played the song Dad and I danced to. I left the room, a friend saw me, and I explained everything. The compassion I experienced was wonderful in that moment.)

-I’ve started to actually plan out my novel and write it, not just talking about it (I’m hoping to put it in fast motion so I complete it sooner rather than never.)

-thinking about what I really need in my life, and seeking out ways to get those things (I needed a night out and live music, and mom was gracious enough to watch Georgio while Jonathan and I went to see our favorite band.)

I’m going to continue these things, because so far they have really made a difference in getting myself closer to a ‘new normal’. So read the article. Print it out if you need to! And start taking care of yourself, so you can be the best version of you for yourself, and everyone else too!

What small things do you do to take care of yourself?

3 responses to “self-care

  1. Anonymous says:

    Sounds like you are getting a handle on it, keep strong! glad you are still thinking about writing that book I really like the way you write! love. Grandma K.

    Like

  2. Keithy says:

    I have yea sometimes before bed. And starting yoga has helped as well.

    Like

Leave a comment

