small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

you’re welcome

on November 20, 2014

A small thing from yesterday: George’s politeness

I was wrestling with George yesterday, a normal happening at my house, and after some giggles I held him close like a baby and said, “I love you soooooo much.”

He then looked at me and without skipping a beat said, “you’re welcome.”

HAHAHAHA.

I couldn’t stop laughing.

And I couldn’t stop thinking about it all day.

Saying I love you was like saying thank you in his eyes. And it really is true!

When I tell him I love him I really am also thanking him.

For being who he is. For coming into our lives at the most perfect time. For the smiles and laughs when all I wanted to do was cry. For the hugs when he saw tears. For the encouragement of “geee up, mommy” when I was on the couch for too long. For being my buddy when I needed one the most.

Even though the past two years, his whole life, have been very difficult for me, the love I have for him has been such a positive.

I love you sooooo much little George.

IMG_1961

You’re welcome, too.

3 responses to “you’re welcome

  1. Keithy says:

    cute story and a cute picture!

    Like

  2. Jeretta Hays says:

    God works in wonderous ways. He knew you would need George. He is a cuties!

    Like

  3. Be sure to memorialize this in some way. A postcard on the mirror, a cross-stitched pillow (uh, maybe not)….I’m just saying that these are the things that make a mom a millionaire. Bankable stuff that carries us through the troughs of life. When they’re little, the reciprocity of love flows like a river and I think it energizes all a mom because of the endless work and on-dutyness. Now that mine are grown and gone….these little pieces of raggy paper, postcards and what not….fill my empty nest. Just sayin’. Be a squirrel and save for the winter.

    Like

Leave a comment

