small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

lord, please take care of them

on November 21, 2014

The rollercoaster continues, as I knew it would. After a great few days and smiles, today hasn’t been that way.

Usually when I have a bad day I think of what might be causing me to be extra sad and missing Dad. Was this day significant in the past few years? Is it the 19th of the month? What has been going on lately to cause me to feel so sad?

Once I identify that, I usually can allow the sadness to happen, and then have a better day.

There is really no significance to this day in the past few years. It isn’t the 19th. I did write a blog post on this date last year, which happened to be another difficult day. But that wasn’t it….

I have had a few things happen this week to make me sad, I realize.

Two friends from high school lost their mothers to cancer within a week. And I feel absolutely helpless. I know a little of what they are feeling and it breaks my heart all over again. It is like reliving a piece of my last moments with Dad. The anger. The tears. The feelings of loneliness. The emptiness. The unbelief.

I talked to my counselor about how this has affected me, and she told me a mantra that she says when she feels helpless.

“Lord, please take care of them.”

So that is my prayer for those two friends. And really for myself too. This grief thing is hard work by yourself. I really need to start calling in reinforcements. I guess He is a good place to start.

3 responses to “lord, please take care of them

  1. Keithy says:

    Amen!

    Like

  2. Grandma Kennedy says:

    I feel your sadness, it seems like I heard of so many tragic things this last two weeks. the dreary rainy day today hasn’t helped either. It is just something we have to accept and keep plugging. Just know there are a lot of people out there that have it much worse and thank God we have the blessed family that we have, especially little George. I thank God everyday that I have you and all the rest that I can count on. Love you, give George and Jonathan a hug and yourself too!

    Like

  3. Josie says:

    I will use this tonight in my prayers, thanks.

    Like

Leave a comment

