small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

child’s prayer

on February 26, 2015

small thing: a child’s prayer

A few days ago I was video chatting with a friend when I asked George to sing his best friend, Monkey, to sleep. Because I have to show my friend his adorable singing of ‘Edelweiss’.

To my surprise, something else came out.

Hail Mary, full of grace, the lord is with thee.

Blessed art thou among women, and blessed is the fruit of thy womb, Jesus.

Holy Mary, Mother of God,

pray for us sinners, now and at the hour of our death, Amen.

I’m speechless as he is reciting this prayer, in toddler speak of course. I’ve never heard him say it before! As I’m wondering about how he learned it, he continues.

Great Grandpa Kennedy, Grandpa Kennedy, Pray for us.

Pray for MeMa and Uncle Leon get better ’cause they are sick.

Amen

I could barely breathe. My sweet, loving, amazing husband has been secretly teaching my son to pray. And I was able to see the beauty of it revealed before my eyes.

Now instead of singing a song before bed, he wants to say his prayers. And he wants to teach that to his best friend, Monkey, too.

I guess I didn’t realize how much my little man would teach me. IMG_1816

5 responses to “child’s prayer

  1. Anonymous says:

    Tears!!! So Sweet, just love you all. Great- Grandma Kennedy

    Like

  2. Corinne Gries says:

    Oh how sweet!! ❤️❤️❤️

    Like

  3. Carol Hoover says:

    Kari…you have 2 very special men in your lives — what an absolute blessing

    Like

  4. Keithy says:

    Tears of sweet joy. What a precious little boy and monkey.

    Like

  5. Jen Sandusky says:

    Karter has taught me to look at life in so many ways I never thought possible. Last night I was not feeling well and Jameson gave me a hug and told me to lay down for awhile. Karter comes in and says Momma I know you not feel well, I will make it better. He hugs me, kisses my belly and says I love you. He walked away from me, but not without turning one more time and smiling…melted my heart. Those moments are what I look forward to everyday.

    I would agree with my mom, you have two very special men in your life!

    Like

Leave a comment

