small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

country roads

on July 6, 2016

Hello you. It’s been a long long time since I’ve written a post here. I’d like to list all of the reasons why I haven’t been blogging, but the most important thing at this time is that I’m writing a post right now! Hooray!

Here is a small piece of joy from tonight.

Tomorrow is my youngest brother’s birthday, so we went out for dinner to celebrate. The restaurant has become our ‘go-to’ when it comes to family celebrations and get togethers. And the rolls are delicious…

Before we got in the car to leave G said, “I miss Papa.” After breathing deeply I responded with, “I do too.” He hopped into the car and as he was getting buckled he said, “Remember, he is always with us.”

Heart. Melt.

We arrived shortly after and met up with the family. Once we had gotten all settled and began looking at the menus, I noticed the song playing. “Take Me Home, Country Roads.” It took my breath away. That was one of the songs we sang together the night Dad passed away. Unbelievable.

And then I remembered the last time we were all together at that restaurant, (different location) when another song that reminded me of Dad was playing as we were getting settled. Again, Unbelievable.

You’re right, G. He is always with us. Especially at Texas Roadhouse.

One response to “country roads

  1. Keithy says:

    That was really cool. I didn’t know G said that before you arrived!

    Like

Leave a comment

