small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

happy birthday in heaven

on February 10, 2017

Ashley_Family_0076.jpg

Today is my late mother-in-law’s birthday. I’ve been a little anxious about this day for a while. Unlike our other ‘firsts’ without her, this is  a day that was solely hers.

As the one year approaches I feel I’m missing her even more because I’m thinking more about the things we did a year ago. It still feels so surreal and still is very difficult not having her here.

I’ve been trying to think of ways to honor her on her special day, but nothing is seeming quite right. So I sat down the other day and made a list of things I miss about her. I feel that is a very appropriate way to honor her birthday. A list of things that were uniquely her that I truly miss.

I miss…

A loud “Thank you” in response to making a point she agreed with.

Seeing her read or cross stitch in her chair.

Saying “I’m going to get you” to G.

Sneaking down the stairs in the morning without anyone hearing her.

Drinking tea and chatting with her on her many visits to South Bend while J was at work.

Speed walking everywhere. Especially to mass at the basilica.

The van being perfectly loaded before any trip–and leaving very close to on time.

All of her lists in wide ruled notebooks.

Watching/hearing her study French.

Project Runway!

Planning for Christmas in July, and summer vacation after Christmas.

Calling her after G’s checkups to update her on his growth.

Hearing her yell “DEAR” at J’s dad for any and all reasons.

The special look and voice she used when talking to J.

How fearless and determined she was in any situation.

How fiercely she loved her family. She would do anything and everything for them.

 

What a beautiful soul. This is only a short list of the many things I miss about her. I’m so thankful to have known her and been a part of her family.  I will keep celebrating her on earth while she celebrates in Heaven.

I sure do miss her.

 

2 responses to “happy birthday in heaven

  1. Keithy says:

    That list is great! I forgot about the “THANK YOU.” Such a funny lady.

    Like

Leave a comment

