small pieces of joy

pieces of joy in each day

breathe and appreciate

on January 25, 2015

Today’s small thing: taking time to breathe

I have been meeting with a wellness coach and nutritionist for the past few months, and it has been such a wealth of incredible information and motivation.

My nutritionist has an acronym for her plan of attack for lasting wellness: ABC. Active, Breathe and Appreciate, Calories.

This week I really wanted to focus on breathing and appreciating. What I have appreciated the most about learning to live well is that it isn’t just about exercise and eating well. It is cultivating a healthy mind and soul.

My mind and soul could use a lot of cultivating.

I think that is why I’m so drawn to the idea that if I work to make my inside healthy, my outside will follow. And vice versa.

Tonight I took a bath in my apartment for the first time in the four years I have lived here. And it was wonderful. I lit a few candles, put on a nice relaxing playlist, and dropped in a nice bath bomb to create a party for the senses. I did forget the wine this time…

That was the first time in a week (of taking care of sick kid and husband) where my mind was still and my body relaxed. Amazing! This might become my new Sunday night ritual (followed by tea and Downton, of course.)

A special thank you to my nutritionist for reminding me to breathe and appreciate. The most important step is to know it is essential, and then do it!

How can you breathe and appreciate today?


One response to “breathe and appreciate

  1. Keithy says:

    I took a bath for the first time in over 15 years! The masseuse i had recommended an epsom salt bath every week to relax the muscles. It was very worth it even though I don’t fully fit in the tub anymore.

    Like

Leave a comment